Beat the Summer Heat

So summer has unofficially started in Toronto. It was really hot this past week and is expected to be for the next four months (summer!!!). I’m not complaining, as I’ve been dreaming of my wearing my sandals since the beginning of December last year!  But it can take a while for your body to catch up to all the excitement and happiness that the mind feels when its warm and sunny.  Also, it can be hard to find the right clothes to wear, especially for us hijabis.  We tend to get too comfortable with all the layering pieces, especially the lifesaving cardigans!

I try to wear light coloured cotton shirts and skirts to combat the heat. My closet is filled with half a dozen white cotton shirts, in various styles and lengths.  A normal summer outfit for me will be a long cotton tunic worn over my favourite pair of Old Navy wide leg jeans.  A lightweight blue floral pashmina, a long silver necklace,  and tons of bracelets will add a bit of sparkle and glamour to the otherwise simple ensemble.  For the fashion conscious hijabis out there, I would suggest that instead of simple ballet flats, try pairing this outfit with gladiator sandals or platform espadrilles.

White Tunic- Bahiya Collections

Gladiator Sandals- Aldo

Leave a Reply

